Bristol Archive Records Blog




‘ ALL DAY ALL NIGHT ’ (Deluxe edition)

Released 23rd April 2012 on CD via Bristol Archive Records


Having previously teamed up with Nubian Records to release the critically acclaimed “Black Roots – The Reggae Singles Anthology”, Bristol Archive Records have once more been allowed into the Black Roots/Nubian tape vaults. This time we bring out a 25th anniversary deluxe CD edition of “All Day All Night”, the album that saw them teaming up with the Mad Professor and moving away from their original sound for a more polished version. Whilst the music may have been brought up to date, the band’s lyrics rarely strayed away from the same themes of social and historical justice that define the roots genre.


      As well the original dozen vocal tracks, we’ve added several dub versions and the extended 12” mix of “Pin in the Ocean”. The music itself saw the band embracing new technology and production techniques to give themselves a more contemporary UK sound, expertly helmed by the UK’s leading reggae producer Neil Fraser. The dub mixes give another dimension to the music, the Mad Professor’s signature mixing style meaning these mixes wouldn’t seem out of place in his own “Dub Me Crazy” series.


      A quarter of a century after its first release, “All Day All Night” is worthy of reissue and hopefully will find a new audience amongst fans who were too young for its original release as well as appealing to those who want to supplement their vinyl issues and enjoy the many extra tracks included on this CD. Bristol Archive Records have paid their usual attention to detail and to complement the newly re mastered music, the booklet will include many previously unpublished photos of the band.


      Back together after many years, Black Roots are working on a new album to be released in late 2012 as well as performing around the UK. The fact that several of these songs have found a firm place in their live set, emphasises the quality of the writing and the need for this long overdue reappraisal. Bristol Archive Records have once again fulfilled their mission and rescued another deserving and high quality album from obscurity for a new generation of fans.



Tracks CD:

1.    Realize

2.    Pin In The Ocean

3.    Release the Food

4.    Freedom

5.    Poor Children

6.    Spare The Rod

7.    Conman

8.    Seeing Your Face

9.    All Day All Night

10. Mighty Lion

11. Suffer Me Not

12. Childless Mother

Additional tracks:

13. Pin In The Ocean (Extended Mix)

14. Reality Dub

15. Folitrickshun Dub

16. Dub Free

17. Face Dub

18. Fertility Dub



Release                All Day All Night (Deluxe Edition)

Artist                    Black Roots

Format                 CD

Cat No                ARC252CD

Label                    Bristol Archive Records

Barcode                 5052571026526    

Release Date         23rd April 2012

Genre                   Roots Reggae 


Contact: Mike Darby, E:  T: 07885 498 402



Leave a Reply